Swamp Man: the logic of the story #SwampMan

CONCEPTION

I’ve reached several times in recent years for a kind of comic scripting which would allow me to explore with a new audience ideas that a decade ago I would have simply exorcised through writing a novel. I decided against writing a novel because the fire that once motivated me very strongly to write books is, at least for now, gone.

Instead, I wanted to make a comicbook exploring the same issues that came into my head:

1. a self aware comicbook character in the redheaded teen mode – from Archie to Jimmy Olsen – who didn’t break the fourth wall but who did despair of the endless looping existence of which he was the epicentre; I tried this previously with JT Neslo but that was too derivative- a single idea spread too thin;

2. the Swampman thought experiment combined with Mossman and Pere Malfait lore from Florida;

3. a non-Satanic working with symbols and secret messages- a way to put encryption into a comicbook for a non-sinister purpose. I feel personally that there is a definite luciferian aspect to some comics, not necessarily the ones people might immediately jump on either;

4. since comicbook writing and drawing is my hobby, but a serious hobby, I wanted to implement the powerthinking techniques I’ve learned recently in a form where it can express itself in something concrete;

5. I wanted to do a comic whose artwork would be vibrant and delightful when printed, not just a digital comicbook whose charms are entirely different. The Swamp Man book will be digital as well- but this is intended to actually literally be a graphic novel- written as would one of my earlier novels have been, but translated into comicbook long form.

To the extent I succeed this will be one of the projects closest to my heart.

http://flying-tiger-comics.deviantart.com/gallery/52671328/Swamp-Man-TM

Swamp Man and all related characters and images are TM & (c) Jonathan Nolan 2015 and following all rights reserved worldwide.

One thought on “Swamp Man: the logic of the story #SwampMan”

  1. As tough as it will be to resist the temptation, I will NOT be publishing individual issue versions of Swamp Man. It lends itself to that format as well as any but it simply can’t be done. It would disrupt the energy that is helping me form this work too much and for little or no return.

    Disturbingly, Amazon has recently “blocked” ie withdrawn from sale one of my comicbooks, part of the FREE series that features a Sean Harrington cover. There has been no explanation given for why, after TWO YEARS, there is suddenly a problem with this work now.

    Disgraceful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

